If you haven’t signed into your accounts in the last two years, Google To Delete Inactive Accounts. To save storage space, Google used to have a policy of removing content from accounts that were no longer active. However, the business will completely erase such accounts with the new dormant accounts policy.
A Google Account will be deleted along with its contents, according to Google, if it hasn’t been used or signed into for at least two years. The email address, Gmail messages, Calendar events, Drive, Docs, and other Workspace files, YouTube, and Google Photos won’t be accessible to users. Notably, Google has made it clear that accounts for organizations, schools, or enterprises are unaffected and that this policy only applies to personal account
Google is taking this action because it thinks that if an account is neglected for more than two years, there is a strong likelihood that it may be hacked. Google declared: “These accounts are often vulnerable, and once an account is compromised, it can be used for anything from identity theft to a vector for unwanted or even malicious content, like spam.”
Beginning in December 2023, Google will start erasing these accounts. According to Google, “Before deleting an account, we will send multiple notifications over the months leading up to deletion, to both the account email address and the recovery email (if one has been provided).”
How to Keep Your Google Account Active?
You must sign in to your Google account at least once every 24 months to keep it active. Google explains, “If you have signed into your Google Account or any of our services recently, your account is considered active and will not be deleted.”
Additionally, you may keep your Google account alive by using Sign in with Google to log into a third-party app or service, reading or sending emails, using Google Drive, watching YouTube videos, installing apps from the Google Play Store, and using Google Search. Particularly, users will no longer be deemed active until they specifically check in to Google Photos every two years. By doing this, you can prevent Google from deleting your content. However, Google will notify consumers several times before taking any such action.